Week 21 photos

Here are my photo a day shots from Week #21.

I’m going to get caught up this week.

I think I can . . .

May_21_17

(5/21/17) Give a kid some PlayDoh and a plastic knife and you might get mint cookies or a blue dinosaur skeleton.

May_22_17

(5/22/17)  My first day of jury duty brought me to a big waiting room on the 24th floor of the Hennepin County Government Center in Minneapolis.  Although I sat there for almost 8 hours without being called, I at least got a nice view to the east.  The new Vikings football stadium doesn’t look as ugly from this angle as it does from the other side.

Version 2

(5/23/17) On the second day of jury duty, I took a walk across the river on my (1.5 hour !?!) lunch break and found what’s left of Nye’s Polonaise Room.  This iconic watering hole was closed last year (despite a public outcry for trying to save it) to make way for — you guessed it — condos.  Just a decade earlier, Esquire Magazine did a feature piece on Nye’s and named it “The Best Bar in America”.  How sad it is that they couldn’t find a way to incorporate the main floor bar into this structure.  On a personal note, the church you see in the right edge of the photo is Our Lady of Lourdes, the oldest standing church in Minneapolis.  My parents were married there and I was baptized there.  In the old days the church served the French-speaking Catholic residents of the area. My Grandmother spoke French and Ojibwe before she went off to a boarding school in Kansas. When my Mom lived on nearby Nicollet Island as a kid, they had French language mass every Sunday at “The French Church”.  Please, let’s not tear that place to shreds, too.

May_24_17

(5/24/17) On my third day of jury duty, I was called for a “panel”, which means a pool of candidates from which a jury is chosen for a case.  But at the last minute, the case was dismissed, and I was sent home early.  Here’s a picture of some of the downtown Minneapolis buildings as I waited for my ride home.

May_25_17

(5/25/17) My friend Joel and his brother built a beautiful deck and “pergolette” for us last year.  We haven’t put stain on it yet, but I love the way it looks.

May_26_17

(5/26/17) After running into each other a few weeks earlier, my friend and former teaching colleague Brian Wachutka invited me to meet for coffee at my favorite neighborhood place.  It was great to talk and catch up.  He’s a smart, funny, thoughtful, and compassionate guy, and he writes a wonderful blog called 21 Cent Peace.  Check it out.

Version 2

(5/27/17)  We took Svea to see “A Year with Frog and Toad” the Minneapolis Children’s Theatre for an early 5th birthday present.  It was a delightful afternoon.

 

One thought on “Week 21 photos

Leave a Reply

