Shovelin’ it but not really diggin’ it

Is there a word that means both beautiful and foreboding?

I’ve lived in Minnesota all my life and to me, snow is no big deal. But I do see the beauty in it and I’m glad I live somewhere that has four distinct seasons, blah, blah, blah. Snow is nice to have around Christmas time and I don’t mind it too much for the first half of the winter, but on my ranking of favorite seasons, winter is still a solid #4 with no bullet.

First snow of the season (photo by Steve Date)

We got our first snow here in Minneapolis this morning and I was compelled to go out with my camera. I have a blog, after all, and this is the kind of day where people notice the beauty and reflect on . . . . whatever.

The old water tower looks good in any season (photo by Steve Date)

Almost anything you say or take a picture of about snow is a cliche. It’s all been said many times and in much more interesting ways than I ever could. I’ll admit, it was pretty this morning — a wet, heavy 3 inches (with 6 more to come by tonight). But because I was shooting photos, I didn’t wear gloves, so after 10 minutes my figures were numb. I didn’t wear boots, so my feet were soaked. The wind was blowing and the camera lens kept getting wet. So I walked around the block, shot a few pictures, said to myself, “Yup, sure is pretty out here”, and ducked back inside.

Now I have a few snow pictures that are about as good as the billion others that were taken by Minnesotans this morning.

It was in the high 60s and sunny just a few days ago, so I guess I’m not ready for this, even though a mid-November snowfall is not at all unusual. This one will melt, but it won’t be long before we get the one that stays with us until April.

There are those winter days in Minnesota where sky is deep blue, the air is clean and crisp and the snow stays fluffy and white. Today isn’t one of them. Today’s snow is wet, heavy and already starting to look dirty.

I’ll be out shoveling this afternoon, then getting the last couple of chairs and a hose into the garage and the pond pump out of the water.

I’ll leave my camera indoors.

That makes two of us

2 thoughts on “Shovelin’ it but not really diggin’ it

  1. Steve- I AM diggin’ this post. There’s an edge to it–very unDateish. And believe me I can relate. I played golf in Solana Beach, CA on Saturday. The forecast said it would be 78 degrees at the coast. It never got above 73. At one point in the round I wondered if shorts were the right call; but then the solitary cloud of the day moved past the sun and I dove into my bag for more sunscreen. But it was only 30–regretted not bringing the 50. We have the worst meteorologists in the country. We have no seasons. It is really difficult to distinguish one day from the other. The tedium of it all. Casey

  2. Pingback: We won’t get fooled again — or at all. | The 58th Year

Leave a Reply

