Nature break on the way to Best Buy

A very busy muskrat greeted me at Wood Lake. (all photos by Steve Date)


So I’m on my way to Best Buy this afternoon and decide to stop in at Wood Lake Nature Center because I hadn’t shot a photo yet for my Photo of the Day project. It turned out to be a good idea. I spent about an hour walking around in “nature” and enjoyed all 60 minutes. I saw two other humans, a lot of birds and one very busy muskrat.


Wood Lake is a 150 acre wetland/woodland/prairie ecosystem wisely set aside as a natural preserve by the city of Richfield, Minnesota in 1969. What was once a recreational lake with homes along its shore began to lose water and become a marsh in the 1950s.

I’ve taken school groups on field trips there over the years, but haven’t visited for a while, probably never by myself. Even though the sounds of nearby Highway 62 are a little irritating when the wind is from that direction, it’s also a good reminder of what a treasure this place is, completely surrounded by suburban development.

I had the place pretty much to myself.

I hope this egret doesn't fly down to the gulf and get full of oil this winter.

This counts as nature, right?

I never made it to Best Buy, which is probably a good thing. I don’t know the names of most of the things I saw, but I’m going to work on that. I did see the nature, though, which was nice. It was an hour well-spent and it reminds me to do this kind of thing more often. I don’t think I ever would have stopped here if I hadn’t set a goal 3 months ago to take a picture every day.

One of the other two homo sapiens I saw

Leave a Reply

