Cosmoline regains their pride the Acadia

Twin Cities group Cosmoline released their first album, “Give Me Back My Pride”, at the Acadia Cafe on the West Bank in Minneapolis on Friday night. I stayed out WAY past my bedtime because my friend John Kurtis Dehn plays guitar and sings in the group.

It was a fun night for me. The place was packed, the band sounded great and everyone loved the music.

As much as I liked the live set, I have to say that I LOVE the CD. I listened to it twice the next morning and I was singing along by the second time. It’s a solid record with some great songs that cross boundaries — country-style tunes with ringin’ guitar riffs and some sweet vocal harmonies. The title song has been in my head for 3 days.

John Kurtis is joined by Scott Malm, Steve Clay, David Hepenstal and on this night, Grant Dawson on piano.

Cosmoline at the Acadia Cafe in Minneapolis, June 5, 2010 (photo by Steve Date)

Here’s a YouTube clip of two songs, “Jean” and “Lay Me Down Gently”, recorded at Stasiu’s in Northeast Minneapolis about a year ago.

John joined the group about 3 years ago, but tells me the nucleus of the band has been around since 2001. Scott and John do most of the songwriting, but everyone has input. They’ve amassed enough new material for another CD and they hope to get started on that soon. In the meantime, John says, “We’re always looking for the new gig experiences and other bands to share the stage with. Otherwise, just the usual requests: Fan us. Friend us. Take us home and feed us. If you like the tunes, harass The Current to play us.”

You can catch them next on June 26th at The New Palace Stage at The Wild Tymes Bar in St. Paul.

L-R John Kurtis Dehn, Steve Clay, David Hepenstal, Scott Malm (photo by Steve Date)

You don’t find many bands who give out free lip balm.

Leave a Reply

