Survival of the Fishest

Do you believe in miracles?

Last fall, the little pond in our backyard froze over before we got the goldfish out. I actually thought they were already either dead or eaten by some sort of critter, because I hadn’t seen them for a while.

A couple of weeks ago, we had “ice out” on the pond and the fish started to make appearances. I’m not easily shocked, but I gotta tell you, I was taken aback, given the water depth and the cold winter we had. Six golden-gilled wonders somehow made it.

These courageous fish survived for a reason. I just hope they can figure out what that is and use the gift of life they’ve been given to help others.

Four of the "Lucky Six"

4 thoughts on “Survival of the Fishest

  1. LOL..you sound like me….we had three survive a winter even after the pond heater died…and the entire surface froze over…I was thrilled to see them in spring…and as amazed as you were….only to have them eaten by raccoons we didn’t know we had in the backyard….we’re not trying to figure out a way to protect them… 🙂 I really like them….

  2. Thanks, Sue. It gets even weirder. I’m going to post an update this weekend. I don’t know where you live, but here in Minnesota, it must have been a looooonng winter in a very small amount of water. The pond was not very deep and I can’t believe it didn’t freeze solid to the bottom.

Leave a Reply

